r1ch.net forums
* Home Help Search Login Register
r1ch.net  |  r1ch.net stuff  |  Anticheat  |  Topic: R1Q2 exiting with Memory Read Error under XP
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: R1Q2 exiting with Memory Read Error under XP  (Read 9091 times)
Malice_UK
Member

Posts: 8


« on: March 01, 2007, 03:57:41 pm »

Hi,

Worm over at Wormlair pointed me here!  I've recently returned to Acme after a long time off and encountered the anticheat checks.

I can run R1Q2 and the other anticheat compliant clients against a server without the checks, but as soon as I enter Acme I get to the map OK, the models load and then i get a crash.

I've done a stack dump and attached it.  I cannot find where R1Q2 crash log is dumped!!  If you tell me I will up that as well!

Thanks.

« Last Edit: March 01, 2007, 04:20:28 pm by R1CH » Logged
R1CH
Administrator
Member

Posts: 2625



« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2007, 04:19:48 pm »

Based on your drwtsn32.log, anticheat seems to crash as it is checking your Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe isn't a cheat. I've not had anyone else have problems with realsched.exe as I would imagine it's a fairly common application. If you could .zip your realsched.exe and attach it here or post it on a file sharing site such as http://senduit.com/ I will be able to investigate further. I also removed your attachment as it contained some info that you may not wish to have made public.
Logged
Malice_UK
Member

Posts: 8


« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2007, 04:22:09 pm »

Hi.

Thanks for the very prompt reply!

Here is the zipped realsched.exe

EDIT, Thanks for removing the file. I thought I had excised all relevant info!!  Obviously not!

* realsched.zip (83.7 KB - downloaded 143 times.)
Logged
R1CH
Administrator
Member

Posts: 2625



« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2007, 04:30:29 pm »

Hmm, that didn't provide the evidence I thought it would. Maybe it was one of the processes in the list before and after. If you could attach these (not sure where they run from though) it might help:

8092 StrmServer.exe
8332 xplorer2_UC.exe
Logged
Malice_UK
Member

Posts: 8


« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2007, 04:35:55 pm »

From the Application event log:

Faulting application r1q2.exe, version 7.1.8.7, faulting module unknown, version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x66ac153a.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

0000: 41 70 70 6c 69 63 61 74   Applicat
0008: 69 6f 6e 20 46 61 69 6c   ion Fail
0010: 75 72 65 20 20 72 31 71   ure  r1q
0018: 32 2e 65 78 65 20 37 2e   2.exe 7.
0020: 31 2e 38 2e 37 20 69 6e   1.8.7 in
0028: 20 75 6e 6b 6e 6f 77 6e    unknown
0030: 20 30 2e 30 2e 30 2e 30    0.0.0.0
0038: 20 61 74 20 6f 66 66 73    at offs
0040: 65 74 20 36 36 61 63 31   et 66ac1
0048: 35 33 61 0d 0a            53a..   
Logged
Malice_UK
Member

Posts: 8


« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2007, 04:37:36 pm »

The StrmServer.exe is a file sharing app for Pinnacle Showcenter
xplorer2_UC is a file explorer replacement.

I have ended both programs and R1Q2 still crashes with the same error.

Do you still want them?
Logged
R1CH
Administrator
Member

Posts: 2625



« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2007, 04:42:04 pm »

No... maybe continue killing off processes until the crash goes away until you determine which one it was then send that. I'm pretty sure you have some program running that anticheat is having a hard time with, but of course crash logs can be deceiving Smiley.
Logged
Malice_UK
Member

Posts: 8


« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2007, 04:43:24 pm »

OK, I'll slowly end some of the background process, like Apache server etc.  I'll see what the offending program or process is.
Logged
Malice_UK
Member

Posts: 8


« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2007, 07:06:32 am »

Well, I ended everything that I could without compromising my PC security, but the R1Q2 client still fails with the same error.  The fact that the other clients also fail on the anticheat check and all work fine against servers with no anticheat in place, suggests a fundamental problem for me which is unfixable.  Pity because I enjoyed the ACME server and maps.
Logged
Malice_UK
Member

Posts: 8


« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2007, 08:14:21 am »

Just as an aside, the latest APRQ2 returns this message.  As it does not load the Quake engine, it does not fall over.

This server requires the r1ch.net anticheat module. Please see http://antiche.at/ for more details.
Disconnected by server, assuming protocol mismatch. Reconnecting with protocol 34.
Please be sure that you and the server are using the latest build of R1Q2.
reconnecting...
Connecting to 66.36.243.128...

If my problem was graphic driver, I'd expect the anticheat to fall over on any server, but it doesn't!  So I am confused as to any potential resolution!
Logged
Malice_UK
Member

Posts: 8


« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2007, 11:49:08 am »

UPDATE:  Success!!

I have for ever used Gamespy to launch Q2.  I spotted a separate program group for r!q2 and ran it manually, selected game ctf, ran my config file, selected the server ip and it all ran fine!

So an older version of Gamespy looks to be the culprit.

Yay!
Logged
R1CH
Administrator
Member

Posts: 2625



« Reply #11 on: March 02, 2007, 01:57:25 pm »

That's really weird, I don't see why a server browser would be responsible for the behaviour you describe. I guess it's possible, although the timing would suck, that Gamespy remains open after launching R1Q2 and exits just as anticheat is about to scan it. Since there's no way of synchronizing process exits, an unfortunately timed program exit could cause the behaviour you were getting.
Logged
R1CH
Administrator
Member

Posts: 2625



« Reply #12 on: March 02, 2007, 05:18:19 pm »

Actually, I looked over the code again and even if a process exits mid-scan anticheat still shouldn't crash. Trickery is afoot!
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
r1ch.net  |  r1ch.net stuff  |  Anticheat  |  Topic: R1Q2 exiting with Memory Read Error under XP
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines