r1ch.net forums
* Home Help Search Login Register
r1ch.net  |  r1ch.net stuff  |  R1Q2  |  Topic: 3dfx voodoo3 card not working with r1q2
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: 3dfx voodoo3 card not working with r1q2  (Read 6953 times)
{SX}AdAM
Guest
« on: October 01, 2005, 06:06:17 pm »

Hey.. small problem.. possibily fixed.. tried tastyspleen forums with no luck.. wondering if ya'll can help me out some more.. i have a p2 350mhz.. 280mb ram.. 3dfx voodoo3 card (very old computer Sad ) and ive downloaded r1q2, updated it, downloaded r1gl too.. no luck.. whenever i try to make it use 3dfx voodoo3 as my video.. it refuses to work and reverts back to software.. super annoying.. any help Smiley 
Logged
Bossman
Member

Posts: 486


« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2005, 07:15:36 pm »

  Make sure you have updated drivers..... OLd updated with opengl

http://www.falconfly.de/voodoo3.htm

and here is another link that may help you out..

http://www.voodoofiles.com/3dfxhelp.asp
« Last Edit: October 01, 2005, 07:22:10 pm by Bossman » Logged
{SX}AdAm
Guest
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2005, 04:54:32 am »

well.. when i first played q2 for the first 2 months i had to use it in software till i found out drivers needed updating.. however about 3 months ago windows found the best drivers for me anyway.. but ill try and give it a go Smiley thankz
Logged
{SX}AdAM (Again :) )
Guest
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2005, 05:24:31 am »

I downloaded an XP driver off the first site bossman and can now use openGL Cheesy therefore i will now be able to redownload r1q2 (reinstalled q2 last night) and play on that with openGL Smiley Thanks for your help bossman! Cheesy Niccccce one Wink
Logged
Bossman
Member

Posts: 486


« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2005, 06:58:25 am »

   Your Welcome  wink
Logged
Xtife
Member

Posts: 63


« Reply #5 on: October 02, 2005, 10:06:18 am »

you should always keep your drivers updated, dont think windows will  rolleyes
 rofl
Logged
Haudrauf
Member

Posts: 58


« Reply #6 on: October 03, 2005, 01:05:53 pm »

perhaps it's just me, but i think i read somewhere that r1gl is nvidia only. Smiley
Quote
Totally removed paletted texture support. R1GL will no longer run on 3dfx cards most likely, as gl_ext_palettedtexture was just causing too many problems with all the new 32 bit stuff.
well, looks like "no-3dfx-anymore".
« Last Edit: October 03, 2005, 01:08:05 pm by Haudrauf » Logged
Bossman
Member

Posts: 486


« Reply #7 on: October 03, 2005, 01:49:02 pm »

  Or maybe no R1GL for 3dfx?
Logged
R1CH
Administrator
Member

Posts: 2625



« Reply #8 on: October 03, 2005, 04:44:10 pm »

R1GL is OpenGL-only. You need a fully compliant OpenGL driver to be able to run it, 3dfx miniport drivers often lack critical features. There are enough versions of 3dfx drivers and hacks out there so I suspect at least one of them has working OpenGL...
Logged
Xtife
Member

Posts: 63


« Reply #9 on: October 03, 2005, 05:26:11 pm »

not to mention how old voodoo cards are man
you could pick up a geforce mx400 super cheap now and that would be good enough for quake2
Logged
Bossman
Member

Posts: 486


« Reply #10 on: October 03, 2005, 07:58:54 pm »

That is what I meant you can't use R1GL with dfx card. even if you have the drivers.
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
r1ch.net  |  r1ch.net stuff  |  R1Q2  |  Topic: 3dfx voodoo3 card not working with r1q2
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines