r1ch.net forums
* Home Help Search Login Register
r1ch.net  |  r1ch.net stuff  |  Other Projects  |  Topic: ? for r1ch
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: ? for r1ch  (Read 8016 times)
PathagenX

« on: March 16, 2007, 08:16:18 pm »

I'm an aspiring 3d newb and long time Q2 fanatic. I loved bang and r1q2/r1gl are the only client and renderer that I use now. I have a few questions about r1gl.
Once again, I am newb so please forgive ignorance.

I am making a graphics mod pack for quake2 at the moment and when using jpeg images under r1gl, I noticed a significant fps reduction but no loss in antialiasing quality.

Does r1gl prefilter, supersample (http://www.siggraph.org/education/materials/HyperGraph/mapping/r_wolfe/r_wolfe_mapping_9.htm)
, does it create mip maps(http://www.siggraph.org/education/materials/HyperGraph/mapping/r_wolfe/r_wolfe_mapping_10.htm)
 when loading the map or does the artifacty nature of jpegs not require any of the above atall?

Is there a way to optimize the use of jpeg textures?
Is there a way to use wal duplicates of the jpeg images, to allow mipmapping (without coding, which I am still too useless to pretend to be able to do).

Can PNG textures be used (with alpha channel) for sprite textures on walls?

Using jpegs as textures is very resource intensive, when compared to other formats, but their size and high-detail-suited-compression make them the best choice for all of the other reasons. But I still know many friends that are still using lower end machines. The choice of having wal files that match the high detail textures, gives them a better experience, the high detail gives me and my luckier mates a better experience but there is no inbetween. mipping between jpeg and wal is the winner in my mind at the moment but I hope that you have a better, more experienced idea of such.