r1ch.net forums
* Home Help Search Login Register
r1ch.net  |  r1ch.net stuff  |  R1Q2  |  Topic: Vista RC1
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Vista RC1  (Read 4722 times)
denny
Guest
« on: September 15, 2006, 08:34:43 am »

Hi, I am playing with Vista and Q II wanted to use the fixed client and the GL but seems to have some kind of problems in vista.

RC1 / 5600 on x64 intel system

if I try and load the gl dll (r1ch one) it throws an error about registering the window class
if I use the std gl dll that error does not happen.
not sure if it's me, gl or the game exe....

std Q II exe works fine on RC1.
Logged
Bossman
Member

Posts: 486


« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2006, 11:58:58 am »

Only Windows 2000, XP and 2003 are supported (32 bit).
Logged
R1CH
Administrator
Member

Posts: 2625



« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2006, 02:40:08 pm »

If you'd included that quote in its proper context Bossman, it only applies to the anticheat.

Right now, using R1Q2 on Vista, especially on x86-64 is unsupported since I haven't tested it in this configuration, and you'll also be dealing with the WoW system when trying to run 32 bit apps. I recommend you use WinXP x86 when trying to play games.
Logged
Denny
Guest
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2006, 03:32:32 pm »

If you'd included that quote in its proper context Bossman, it only applies to the anticheat.

Right now, using R1Q2 on Vista, especially on x86-64 is unsupported since I haven't tested it in this configuration, and you'll also be dealing with the WoW system when trying to run 32 bit apps. I recommend you use WinXP x86 when trying to play games.

from what I can tell the R1Q2 client with the software render does run.
and open gl as shipped with the Q2 CD works.
so I think that if the issue with the renderer was found then it would be ok.

I Know Vista is Beta.... I am trying out a bunch of games this weekend and some business stuff also...
just figured I'd let you know what I saw.
Logged
R1CH
Administrator
Member

Posts: 2625



« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2006, 03:56:13 pm »

Try the .dll from http://www.r1ch.net/stuff/r1q2/pre/
Logged
Bossman
Member

Posts: 486


« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2006, 08:30:10 pm »


   Is that really out of context?  rolleyes
Logged
Maurox?
Member

Posts: 82


« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2006, 02:18:33 am »

   Is that really out of context? rolleyes
yes cuz i dont see where it says "anticheat problem"....
Logged
Bossman
Member

Posts: 486


« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2006, 07:10:08 am »



   Thats because I/we are not talking about anticheat here....
Logged
starttimartti
Member

Posts: 32



« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2006, 07:21:42 am »

That's because I/we are not talking about anticheat here....
The thread you were quoting was titled "Anticheat not work Windows XP x64".

As far as I know R1Q2 works at least from w98 onwards (not sure about w95) and R1GL runs atleast on Win 9x/NT/2K/XP/2K3.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2006, 08:01:05 am by starttimartti » Logged
Bossman
Member

Posts: 486


« Reply #9 on: September 16, 2006, 03:29:11 pm »



   Talk about taking something out of context lets look again here suport with using Vista RC1...... Does Vista RC1 suport 95 98 or even 2000? The End...

.

Logged
R1CH
Administrator
Member

Posts: 2625



« Reply #10 on: September 16, 2006, 03:44:35 pm »

Where did you find the list of supported OSes for R1Q2?
Logged
Bossman
Member

Posts: 486


« Reply #11 on: September 16, 2006, 05:02:33 pm »

 heres the site. Check out "get ready" too

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvista/default.aspx
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
r1ch.net  |  r1ch.net stuff  |  R1Q2  |  Topic: Vista RC1
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines