r1ch.net forums
* Home Help Search Login Register
r1ch.net  |  r1ch.net stuff  |  R1Q2  |  Topic: Quake2 problems
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Quake2 problems  (Read 6035 times)
decino
Member

Posts: 4


« on: February 24, 2010, 10:37:37 am »

Recently I'm having weird problems with Quake2. When I try to connect to a server (with anticheat) with R1Q2 I crash upon the map load. I get no error message. I can connect with EGL though, but only 10% of the time.

I'm using Windows 7 and this has never happened before. I think a Windows Media Player update is causing this. I had to update it 1 week ago and since then the problems started.

My English is kinda crappy, sorry. Hopefully you can understand what I wrote.
Thanks in advance!

cool
Logged
mhanor
Member

Posts: 120


« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2010, 04:08:25 pm »

nobody can help you if you don't provide something to work on, a crash log/dump for example
Logged
QwazyWabbit
Member

Posts: 402


« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2010, 09:59:00 pm »

I've experienced a couple of crashes of r1q2 client straight to desktop. No crash dump, no messages or offer to produce a crash dump. It's hard to provide something that doesn't exist.
Logged
mhanor
Member

Posts: 120


« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2010, 03:48:42 am »

maybe it's something else, not a crash, if the OS doesn't notify, at least
LE: I've tried a small C program to do stack overflow and it exits without error... interesting
« Last Edit: February 25, 2010, 03:59:15 am by mhanor » Logged
decino
Member

Posts: 4


« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2010, 09:25:59 am »

Upon the map load the game freezes and I must shut it down with alt+ctrl+del. Anticheat loads fine. I get no crash report, but it asks me to debug.



However, this does nothing. Am I doing something wrong?



Thanks for the responses so far.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2010, 09:29:42 am by decino » Logged
mhanor
Member

Posts: 120


« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2010, 05:19:26 pm »

disable the just-in-time debugger:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/k8kf6y2a(VS.80).aspx
Logged
decino
Member

Posts: 4


« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2010, 07:44:21 pm »

I disabled it and now I'm getting this message:



Still no crash report.
Logged
R1CH
Administrator
Member

Posts: 2625



« Reply #7 on: February 26, 2010, 03:37:09 am »

You can reinstall DrWatson as the default handler with drwtsn32 -i

Then run drwtsn32 to get options such as paths to crash logs / dumps.
Logged
decino
Member

Posts: 4


« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2010, 07:27:20 am »

I don't crash anymore, looks like I had a virus.
Watch out for "WhereSphere.exe".

rolleyes

Thanks for all your help.
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
r1ch.net  |  r1ch.net stuff  |  R1Q2  |  Topic: Quake2 problems
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines