r1ch.net forums
* Home Help Search Login Register
r1ch.net  |  r1ch.net stuff  |  R1Q2  |  Topic: writeconfig cmd
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: writeconfig cmd  (Read 4339 times)
naymlis
Guest
« on: March 15, 2006, 07:12:06 pm »

not sure if this on r1q2 or not but i haven't found it. it just saves the cfg/changes you're using to a specified config.. like if i type writeconfig naymlis.cfg itll save all my commands/binds to naymlis.cfg. i use it alot in qw and q4 and was wondering if you could put this up in the next version if its not already in r1q2, thx alot.
Logged
Snake
Member

Posts: 184


« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2006, 05:23:06 pm »

This has been requested before and rejected because of security concerns, IIRC.
Logged
Haudrauf
Member

Posts: 58


« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2006, 09:21:51 pm »

Actually, I second the first poster's request.

I have seen such features on Fuhquake, ezquake, FTEqw and mqwcl. All good quakeworld clients.
Logged
QwazyWabbit
Member

Posts: 402


« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2006, 12:19:50 am »

I thought the current config was written each time the game is exited. This becomes config.cfg and contains all the binds and variables as they existed in the client when the game is terminated. You can copy this file and edit it into whatever form you like.
Logged
Haudrauf
Member

Posts: 58


« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2006, 06:47:29 pm »

config.cfg wasn't actually suited for editing and handling by users.

A config which got saved by Fuhquake for example will be written to a quake/fuhquake/configs directory and can be loaded up again  (command loadconfig) so you could handle multiple configs for multiple users.

The config that ezquake, for example, writes with "writeconfig haudrauf" is attached.

* haudrauf.cfg (24.52 KB - downloaded 96 times.)
Logged
QwazyWabbit
Member

Posts: 402


« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2006, 12:31:56 am »

Why not? Copy it to a new file, edit it and add comments, rename the edited file to autoexec.cfg or whatever and it can be the basis for a new autoexec or special config that you can exec later.
Logged
Haudrauf
Member

Posts: 58


« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2006, 08:07:29 am »

Because it's not as nice as this would be. Smiley
Logged
G.A.M.E
Guest
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2006, 07:24:36 am »

this cvar just have be in r1q2 =P
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
r1ch.net  |  r1ch.net stuff  |  R1Q2  |  Topic: writeconfig cmd
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines