r1ch.net forums
* Home Help Search Login Register
r1ch.net  |  r1ch.net stuff  |  R1Q2  |  Topic: maplist troubles
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: maplist troubles  (Read 6618 times)
D00ky
Member

Posts: 7


« on: May 26, 2011, 01:21:57 pm »

I have a q2 server on windows, used it many times but now I'm having maplist problems. In my server.cfg I have
sv maplist maplist.ini 0

But the console shows no maps found in map list.

No matter how I make the maplist file it never seems to work out.

All the maps are in a /maps directory under baseq2 and the mod directory.

Logged
QwazyWabbit
Member

Posts: 402


« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2011, 01:10:28 am »

Use sv_maplist. You are missing the underscore in your server.cfg. I don't believe you need the 0 in the line.
Logged
D00ky
Member

Posts: 7


« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2011, 01:54:03 pm »

Thanks for your response. I changed it to set sv_maplist "maplist.ini"

still no maplist in game. On the console when you type sv_maplist it responds with the filename.

but if you type "sv maplist show" in console it says there are no maps in the maps list.

in game when you type maplist it responds with ""


If I type in the console or from rcon sv maplist maplist.ini it responds with no maps found in maplist file maplist.ini

It almost like it can not open the maplist.ini file.

I also noted that q2admin was unable to write its default txt files when added.

Perhaps the ESET antivirus is preventing reading and writing of files?

It seems all this stuff used to work flawlessly, the only new addition to this box was the ESET antivirus because I took off mcafee due to hogging.

« Last Edit: May 27, 2011, 02:03:35 pm by D00ky » Logged
QwazyWabbit
Member

Posts: 402


« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2011, 01:09:16 am »

What mod are you running?
Does it support a maplist file? Some mods didn't.
Does the maplist file list one map per line?
What happens if you use maplist.txt instead of .ini?
I don't know any reason why ESET would prevent access, .ini or .txt files are not usually scanned or blocked like that. It should be easy enough to check, just disable the A/V scanner for a test.
Logged
D00ky
Member

Posts: 7


« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2011, 06:49:23 am »

the mod is kots 2007, the mod supports maplist. i also tried maplist.txt and maps.lst.

the maplist file is just a plain text file with one map per line.

I tried it on another windows box with no antivirus, no change.

the console reports there are no maps found in maplist.txt when you type in the command to the console.



Logged
QwazyWabbit
Member

Posts: 402


« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2011, 06:29:55 pm »

OK, looking at the KOTS2007 source code it looks like I gave you some bad advice about the sv usage.
The code contains references to 3 cvars pertaining to the maplist files.
It uses kots_maplist, maplist, and sv_maplist and looking at the  code it's not exactly clear to me when they are to be used.

If you use the sv command it looks like the correct format is:
sv maplist maplist.txt 0 (0 or 1 for sequential rotation or random rotation)
(This is where I went wrong, telling you to use sv_maplist, which is what is used in r1q2's version of the vanilla q2 mod.)
The maplist.txt file must be in the kots2007 mod folder.

It looks like you do NOT use "set sv maplist ..." in the config file, just use "set maplist maplist.txt 0" there. (without quotes).
You only use the sv command to set it from the console.

If the server did the maplist command correctly, kots_maplist will be the same as maplist.
In DM mode the kots mod expects sv_maplist but never uses it anywhere else in the mod.

"sv maplist show" in console will display the maplist if it parsed it correctly. If sv maplist show says "No maplist currently active..." it means there is an error in the contents of the maplist file itself.

If the server couldn't find the maplist file it will post a message "Could not open file maplist.txt" to the server log and console.

I don't have the time right now to build and test a kots server so you are on your own.
Logged
D00ky
Member

Posts: 7


« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2011, 07:02:27 pm »

I got it working sorta, but the sample maplist looked like this

07 10 2 glad1
05 08 2 grdm1
10 16 1 grdm2
08 10 2 grdm3
08 14 1 grom_dm3
06 10 0 homers11
00 20 0 homers12
07 10 2 kotsdm2
08 10 2 ktdm8
07 10 2 k2kmkmetal
05 07 1 marics24
06 08 2 marics31
08 12 2 marics41
00 05 2 match1
10 20 2 mdm2


what are these numbers?
Logged
D00ky
Member

Posts: 7


« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2011, 07:08:42 pm »

mystery solved, number are priority, min and max players, sort of a system for when maps will come up in the rotation.
excellent help, thank you.

Logged
QwazyWabbit
Member

Posts: 402


« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2011, 12:12:20 am »

Yes, they are (in order) min_players, max_players, priority, mapname. Ranges: 0-99, 0-99, 0-9.

You're welcome. Glad it worked.
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
r1ch.net  |  r1ch.net stuff  |  R1Q2  |  Topic: maplist troubles
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines