r1ch.net forums
* Home Help Search Login Register
r1ch.net  |  r1ch.net stuff  |  Anticheat  |  Topic: FPS drop
Pages: 1 [2]  All
Print
Author Topic: FPS drop  (Read 27373 times)
Cunnilson
Member

Posts: 21


« Reply #15 on: August 14, 2006, 08:14:53 pm »

task manager (ctrl+alt+del)
Logged
Bossman
Member

Posts: 486


« Reply #16 on: August 15, 2006, 07:47:53 am »

  If you are looking under Performance only then you are seeing everything that is running all together which may or may not be just the r1q2.exe.

 Once you bring it up look in Processes and find r1q2.exe look under CPU that is the % of time that it used the cpu since last updated. The CPU Time is how many seconds it has been running since you started it. If you see something other then your system idle process running high then that may be the problem. Sometimes antivirus,software firewall or other things you may have running in background could be doing it but you should see it easy there whatever it is.
 
Logged
Cunnilson
Member

Posts: 21


« Reply #17 on: August 15, 2006, 04:57:53 pm »

  If you are looking under Performance only then you are seeing everything that is running all together which may or may not be just the r1q2.exe.

i'm not. And it's not r1q2, it's AprQ2 (i think i mentioned that in the 1st post).

Well, if that's not normal... i'm running out of ideas about wtf is happening. I have so little processes running that very few things can be messing up my game Sad, maybe it's the Zone Alarm Firewall... or not... i'll check that out
Logged
R1CH
Administrator
Member

Posts: 2625



« Reply #18 on: August 16, 2006, 03:50:09 am »

Just to bring a bit of closure, it turns out anticheat wasn't responsible for the FPS drop - the problem happens without anticheat too on a local server, seems like some kind of weird graphics bug in AprQ2 1.20.
Logged
Cunnilson
Member

Posts: 21


« Reply #19 on: August 16, 2006, 01:00:12 pm »

FINALLY IT'S GONE (the problem Cheesy)

set gl_ext_compiled_vertex_array "0"

it works perfectly Cheesy
Logged
R1CH
Administrator
Member

Posts: 2625



« Reply #20 on: August 16, 2006, 09:55:06 pm »

Very interesting, gl_ext_compiled_vertex_array is only used when gl_vertex_arrays is 1, which we already checked. Perhaps AprQ2 simply ignores gl_vertex_arrays and always uses them...
Logged
Gen
Member

Posts: 56



« Reply #21 on: August 16, 2006, 10:39:36 pm »

 in my AthlonXP 2000+ cpu I see 3.2% cpu usage more than the same client without anticheat.dll
Logged
quadz
Member

Posts: 16


« Reply #22 on: August 21, 2006, 01:31:26 pm »

Just to bring a bit of closure, it turns out anticheat wasn't responsible for the FPS drop - the problem happens without anticheat too on a local server, seems like some kind of weird graphics bug in AprQ2 1.20.

I'm experiencing extremely choppy gameplay with r1q2 b6756, only when connected to a server with anticheat enabled.

It's so choppy as to be unplayable.  When I tried turning anticheat on and off on the server (and changing maps), the client gameplay would go from smooth to choppy, as the server anticheat went from off to on.  It even showed up in the netgraph(!).  With anticheat enabled, the choppy client would show a lot more green in its netgraph.  But it wasn't server-side lag, because I simultaneously connected an older non-anticheat client (r1q2 b6359) and its gameplay stayed smooth, and its netgraph stayed consistently clean.

My system is Win XP Pro, Athlon 64 3200 (2.01 GHz), 2 GB RAM.


Aha...!!!  I don't get the lag if i use ref_gl instead of ref_r1gl !

My r1gl claims to be version 0.1.5.32.  OK, I just got 0.1.5.34 from the updater.

OK well.. the choppiness (and visible lag on the netgraph) is still there even with the latest r1gl.  Sad

Here are the r1gl settings I use:

set gl_colorbits ""    //let r1gl pick the best
set gl_depthbits ""    //settings based on the
set gl_alphabits ""    //desktop color depth
set gl_stencilbits ""  //by leaving these empty

set gl_ext_texture_filter_anisotropic "1" //enable anisotropic filtering
set gl_ext_max_anisotropy "16"            //max anisotropy for GF4 is 8
set gl_ext_generate_mipmap "1"            //use hardware/driver mipmaps

set gl_ext_multisample "1"
set gl_ext_samples "8"
set gl_ext_nv_multisample_filter_hint "nicest"


Edit: I forgot to mention my video card: GeForce 7800 GT 256 MB  (Slightly overclocked / BFG Tech)

Working with r1ch, I've now tried it with gl_ext_multisample and gl_ext_texture_filter_anisotropic both set to zero, but I still get the lag...


Hope this helps,

Regards,

quadz
« Last Edit: August 21, 2006, 03:44:48 pm by quadz » Logged
R1CH
Administrator
Member

Posts: 2625



« Reply #23 on: August 29, 2006, 09:28:39 pm »

The latest version (as of tonight) appears corrected.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]  All
Print
r1ch.net  |  r1ch.net stuff  |  Anticheat  |  Topic: FPS drop
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines