r1ch.net forums
* Home Help Search Login Register
r1ch.net  |  r1ch.net stuff  |  R1Q2  |  Topic: ERROR: V_AddParticle: bad color 166029440
Pages: [1] 2 3 4  All
Print
Author Topic: ERROR: V_AddParticle: bad color 166029440  (Read 44346 times)
Impulse^
Member

Posts: 13


« on: April 26, 2006, 07:05:50 am »

Hi!

I just reinstalled quake 2 on my computer and got r1q2 because I like it's features.
Well anyway, I now get some rather strange crashes to console while playing action quake 2. This happens after 0 - 5 minutes of gameplay (usually when someone gets fragged).

*****************
ERROR: V_AddParticle: bad color 166029440
*****************

The last number changes a bit each time it crashes.
A week ago the game worked perfectly with the then currently newest version of r1q2, and I haven't changed any settings or drivers on my computer since then.

This is the first time during my 6+years of quake2 I've seen this error.
Can you give me any general ideas what could cause this kind of problem?
I'm using the newest version of r1q2, b6557. Had the same problem with the version released 2-3 days ago.

edit: I'm also using the newest version of r1gl

Thank you,
 Impulse^
« Last Edit: April 26, 2006, 07:08:12 am by Impulse^ » Logged
R1CH
Administrator
Member

Posts: 2625



« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2006, 02:11:50 pm »

This was added as a safety check. The Q2 palette only supports colors from 0-255 for particles, from crash reports I was receiving it appeared some people were crashing due to particle colors way outside this range, hence this check was added. What server are you playing on? I'll try and reproduce this to narrow down the exact cause.
Logged
Impulse^
Member

Posts: 13


« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2006, 02:13:54 am »

Hi!
Haven't actually tried other servers than this one (since it's my favourite and only snipers only server in finland)

ateam4.q2.peliportti.net:27920 (ip: 193.65.46.32) (Action Quake 2, server version I don't know)

Could it have something to do with 32bit textures or HUD pics?

I guess it isn't possible to implement the safety check as a variable or argument at execution? [on/off]
Logged
R1CH
Administrator
Member

Posts: 2625



« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2006, 02:17:43 am »

Your client would crash (access violation) if the check were not present, so no.
Logged
Impulse^
Member

Posts: 13


« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2006, 05:20:34 am »

Ok!

Good (bug)hunting!

I'll go back to b6377 for now and play with that one. I guess there shouldn't be any problems with it (unless ofcourse you've made some changes to r1gl that need the stuff from newer versions of r1q2)? Atleast I have never had it crash.

If you need me to test anything, or need information (about my setup or such) just ask.
Logged
Impulse^
Member

Posts: 13


« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2006, 08:58:19 am »

Well, b6377 is working like a charm. Had one crash with it.. but that was because of an old driver.

Tried once more with the latest version and 3 crashes in a row (after about 1min gameplay).
Seems like the bad color is always something 166xxxyyy where xxx is <255 and yyy is >255.

Has no one else experienced these kind of problems? Seems strange that I'm the only one.

Repeating an earlier question: Could it have something to do with 32bit textures or HUD pics?
Logged
R1CH
Administrator
Member

Posts: 2625



« Reply #6 on: May 06, 2006, 02:54:44 am »

Is this on the same server or different ones? Each time I tried to reproduce the server was empty.
Logged
Impulse^
Member

Posts: 13


« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2006, 04:31:01 am »

So far every server I've tried has produced the problem (aq2 server that is, haven't tried any other mods).

Here are some cut and pasted error messages from screenshots:


I'm using an old version of atioglxx.dll because if I don't, my fps drops to below 100 (from 300-500)  and I get a sort of mouselag.
I could try if that causes the crash, but the game is unplayable if I don't use it.

EDIT:
Just had a crash while watching a demo. Same bad color stuff. Smiley So I guess it's not a server-related problem.
Also ruled out the possibility of it being a driver error (atleast the ati opengl driver) as it crashed without the old driver also.
Tried with default textures and hud pics, still crashes.
« Last Edit: May 06, 2006, 09:47:53 am by Impulse^ » Logged
R1CH
Administrator
Member

Posts: 2625



« Reply #8 on: May 06, 2006, 01:58:20 pm »

Does the demo crash reoccur at the same point evey time? If so could you attach it here?
Logged
Impulse^
Member

Posts: 13


« Reply #9 on: May 06, 2006, 02:54:00 pm »

Nope.
Tried 4 times and always crashed at a different time.

But heres the link to the demo if you want to try reproducing the problem. http://rinat.franva.org/wh/siruwh.zip

I still have a few thing to try out which could possibly cause problems...

Edit: No.. those were direct X settings.. Wink
Logged
R1CH
Administrator
Member

Posts: 2625



« Reply #10 on: May 06, 2006, 03:22:54 pm »

Demo plays fine for me, multiple times. I suspect something in either your config or other settings is causing this. The only time V_AddParticle should be called is when particle effects occur, and those are caused by tempent effects that are part of the demo stream. For this to occur at random places during playback is very strange. Are you overclocking at all?

EDIT: Also, what is your cl_particlecount set to?
« Last Edit: May 06, 2006, 03:25:26 pm by R1CH » Logged
Bossman
Member

Posts: 486


« Reply #11 on: May 06, 2006, 05:20:10 pm »

  Are you using opengl32
Logged
Impulse^
Member

Posts: 13


« Reply #12 on: May 06, 2006, 05:25:58 pm »

cl_particlecount = 16384
I haven't got the value in my configs so I guess thats the default value?

I've overclocked my AthlonXP Mobile, but that shouldn't cause any problems. Memory settings are quite loose and not o/c:d. Also my radeon 9700 is running at normal speed.

I has to be something with my settings yes.. now just to find out which setting.. Smiley

maybe these? :

set gl_particle_att_c       "0.01"
set gl_particle_att_b       "0.0"
set gl_particle_att_a       "0.01"
set gl_particle_size       "40"
set gl_particle_max_size    "40"
set gl_particle_min_size    "2"


  Are you using opengl32

Yes, openGL. vid_ref r1gl
« Last Edit: May 06, 2006, 05:32:38 pm by Impulse^ » Logged
Impulse^
Member

Posts: 13


« Reply #13 on: May 06, 2006, 05:58:20 pm »

That was propably it...
Changed the values of those to default and now I was  able to play for longer that before without a crash.
Wasn't able to test too long as the servers are almost out of players this late (2 a.m in finland).

Anyway, seems that the settings I've copied from someone elses config may years ago caused the problem.
I'll test more tomorrow and se if it really is those settings.
Logged
R1CH
Administrator
Member

Posts: 2625



« Reply #14 on: May 06, 2006, 06:01:53 pm »

The gl_particle settings should have no effect at all as they are just parameters passed to the video driver, the V_AddParticle is done long before the particles are actually rendered.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4  All
Print
r1ch.net  |  r1ch.net stuff  |  R1Q2  |  Topic: ERROR: V_AddParticle: bad color 166029440
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines